Professor Hilary Weaver selected as Insley-Evans Public Health Social Worker of the Year by APHA

Hilary Weaver holding APHA award.

Published November 11, 2020


Congratulations to Professor Hilary Weaver on being selected the 2020-2021 Insley-Evans Public Health Social Worker of the Year by the Public Health Social Work (PHSW) Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA).

This award is named for two leaders in the field, Virginia Insley and Juanita Evans, who both played significant roles in the founding of public health social work education, research and services. Insley was the first chief social work officer for the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. She served from 1955 to 1980 and was succeeded by Evans, who held the position from 1980 to 2000.

Founded in 1872, the APHA consists of more than 25,000 public health professionals committed to building a healthier nation in one generation through science-based advocacy and programs. The APHA's mission is to improve the health of the public and achieve equity in health status, while working to advance the health of all people and communities.

The UB School of Social Work offers a Master of Social Work (MSW), including an online MSW, a PhD in social welfare, an online DSW and dual degrees with law, management and public health. With an innovative approach to social work education, the school integrates a trauma-informed and human rights perspective in its curriculum, offers collaborative research projects and presents the monthly inSocialWork podcast. The school is ranked by U.S. News & World Report in the top 10 percent of schools of social work across the country, and accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. For more information about the UB School of Social Work, visit