Excellence in Research Award

The Excellence in Research Award recognizes outstanding research contributions by our faculty/staff, students and community research partners.

Based on the quality of the research, up to three awards will be conferred annually each spring, one at each award level. Nominations are accepted using the online form only. Guidelines are as follows:

Award Levels and Eligibility

  • Community: Recognized research partner with SSW/BCSR.
  • Faculty/Staff: Any current SSW full-time faculty or staff member.
  • Student: SSW current MSW or doctoral student or recent graduate (within one year of graduation). A group award for students who work on a research team or course team will be considered.

Criteria for Community, Faculty/Staff, Student

  • Significance of the research for advancing the knowledge-base of social work.
  • Scientific rigor of the research effort.
  • Evidence that the research has direct implications for social work practice.
Nominations must be received by December 1

Award Recipients


2023 - Integrity Partners for Behavioral Health 
2022 - Erie County Department of Social Services
2020 - Planned Parenthood of Tennessee and North Mississippi
2018 - ECMC Advanced Illness Management & Palliative Care Program
2017 - National Network of Abortion Funds
2016 - Hospice Buffalo
2013 - Hillside Family of Agencies


2023 - Noelle St. Vil
2022 - Mickey Sperlich
2019 - Deborah Waldrop
2018 - Annahita Ball, Elizabeth Bowen and Annette Semanchin Jones
2017 - Nadine Shaanta Murshid
2016 - Gretchen Ely
2015 - Thomas Nochajski 
2013 - Yunju Nam


2023 - Charles LaBarre
2022 - Maryam Ameen
2019 - Carol Scott
2018 - Braden Linn
2017 - Travis Hales 
2016 - Shraddha Prabhu 
2015 - John Keesler
2014 - Nicole Fava