Most of our training programs provide the CEs and contact hours listed on this page. Before you register, please check the "CEs/Contact Hours" tab to ensure it provides the credit you need.
The Board of Regents approved regulations on October 4, 2022 that requires psychologists, social workers and mental health practitioners licensed and registered under Articles 153, 154 or 163 of the Education Law, to complete 3 hours of acceptable continuing education on issues related to maintaining appropriate professional boundaries between licensees and patients. The course work must be taken from a provider approved by the Department and counts toward the 36 hours of continuing education required in each 36-month registration period.
The regulations apply to each psychologist, licensed master social worker, licensed clinical social worker, mental health counselor, marriage and family therapist, creative arts therapist and psychoanalyst licensed and registered for registration periods starting on or after April 1, 2023. A licensee does not need to submit continuing education certificates to the State Board, unless audited by the Board or applying for a delayed registration.
The full advisory notice can be found here. For the most up-to-date licensing requirements please visit the NYSED Office of Professions website.
The Office of Continuing Education is Association of Social Work Boards Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Provider number 1773.
ACE approval shows the Office of Continuing Education has met rigorous standards and demonstrates the ability to offer high-quality continuing education activities to social workers. ACE provider trainings are recognized by 47 U.S. states and 8 Canadian provinces as fulfilling professional Social Work licensure renewal requirements. Visit ASWB to see if your area accepts ACE approved courses.
Even when a social work board accepts courses offering ASWB ACE credit, licensees are responsible for determining whether courses meet the CE requirements in their jurisdictions. States and provincial regulatory boards have the final authority to determine whether any individual course may be accepted for credit.
New York State LMSW and LCSW Contact Hours: The University at Buffalo School of Social Work, Office of Continuing Education is recognized by the New York State Education Department's State Board for Social Work as an approved provider of continuing education for licensed social workers #SW-0001. Full attendance at training is required; no partial credit will be awarded for partial attendance. Individual workshop, credit courses, and certificate program descriptions will specify the number of contact hours that are approved.
New York State LMHC, LCAT and LMFT Contact Hours: Continuing education hours to renew license registration are required for these licenses as of 1/1/17. We are an approved NYSED State Board for Mental Health Practitioners training provider for all three. Our provider numbers are: #MHC-0008, #CAT-0003 and #MFT-0007. Full attendance at training is required; no partial credit will be awarded for partial attendance. Individual workshop, credit courses and certificate program descriptions will specify the number of contact hours that are approved.
New York State Psychology Contact Hours: Beginning January 1, 2021 each Licensed Psychologist must complete 36 hours of approved continuing education courses for each triennial registration period. All courses must be taken from psychology providers approved by the State Education Department. The Office of Continuing Education is proud to be an approved NYS provider, provider number #PSY-0062. Full attendance at training is required; no partial credit will be awarded for partial attendance. Individual workshop, credit courses and certificate program descriptions will specify the number of contact hours that are approved.
The Office of Continuing Education is an approved New York State Office of Addiction Services and Supports (NYS OASAS) training provider, certificate #0045.
If you are a professional in need of training hours for the following certifications, your certificate of completion at the end of each of our training programs will indicate the hours that have been approved by NYS OASAS:
Visit the OASAS website for information about obtaining credentials in substance abuse counseling or prevention.
Individuals taking courses through the University at Buffalo's MSW and DSW programs may qualify for NYSED social work continuing education hours. If you have a license in another state, check with your state regulatory board to determine if NY hours will be accepted in your state. Each credit hour is equal to 15 NYSED social work continuing education hours, e.g. a 3 hour course equals 45 NYSED social work continuing education hours.
Download the appropriate form below to see if you qualify. Please note the Office of Continuing Education is proud to offer this service free of charge as a professional courtesy to our students and alumni.
Many states and jurisdictions accept courses from either NYS approved providers (see approval information listed above), or from recognized and accredited Universities.
The University at Buffalo School of Social Work is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) and the Council on Social Work Education. Based on the MSCHE website, they are recognized by the United Stated Department of Education (USDE). Please review the MSCHE website to ensure the accreditation is active.
If you are not sure if this meets your states requirements we recommend following up with your licensing board with this information to verify before committing to a course.
If you have any questions or need any other information about our program to send to your licensing board, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
NYSED courses for LMSW, LCSW, LMHC, LCAT, LMFT, and PSY limit the number of self-study continuing education hours to 1/3 of the hours needed for license registration renewal. Self-study means the courses can be viewed at any time desired and you do not have access to the instructor for questions.
NOTE: Live online courses with access to the instructor do not count towards this limit.